Wausau Area Businesses that have Posted Signage Banning Weapons

Today, for the first time in many years, I am legally carrying a concealed firearm.  The reason I am carrying – it is laundry coin day and I will be walking around with fairly heavy bags that could contain over $1,000 in quarters.  The reason I am legal, because I have Wisconsin-issued permit to do so.

I am not one of those people who plan on carrying every day because I can.  On days where I might be transporting large deposits, carrying coin from laundry machines, or delivering eviction notices is when I am most likely to use this newly granted right.  Therefore, today is the first day since getting the permit I am actually using it.

However, up until today, I have been paying attention when I run my errands.  I have been looking at places that I visit to see if they have posted notices banning weapons.  Basically, because I think this is good information to know ahead of time.  Like most CCW permit holders, it is my intention to be a law-abiding citizen.  Therefore, when I see that a business bans weapons, I am going to respect that ban even though technically, there is no way they would know I actually have one.

I know that some CCW permit holders are going to start boycotting those businesses that cause them the inconvenience of getting to the door, seeing the sign, and then having to go back to the car to secure the weapon before going inside.  I am not one of those.  Where I do business depends on the value and the service of the business.  They have a right to ban weapons just as I have the right to carry one.  I am not going to stop using a business solely because they are not comfortable with Wisconsin’s CCW law.

To avoid those incidents where law-abiding, armed CCW permit holders are inconvenienced with weapon prohibition signs, this blog post will serve as a public service announcement to Wausau area CCW permit holders to know where some of these signs can be found.  That way, if you are going to this business, you know AHEAD OF TIME to secure the weapon in your vehicle.

This is a list of places where I have personally seen weapon prohibition signs.  If you see a business in the Wausau area that prohibits weapons but don’t see it on this list, post a comment to this blog post.  As I have some time, I will go by and verify the property is in fact posted and will add it to this list.  (If you wish to remain unnamed to the general public, let me know this in your blog comment and I will post the location of the sign after it is verified, but will NOT post your comment.)

PLACES IN THE WAUSAU AREA WHERE DR RENT HAS SEEN SIGNS NOT ALLOWING WEAPONS.

ACE HARDWARE CENTER – WESTON, 2606 Schofield Avenue, Weston

The GRAND THEATER, Downtown Wausau (Added to list 12/27/11, picture sent to me)

H T COBBLERY, 327 Third St, Wausau (A picture of the sign was sent to me)

MARATHON COUNTY COURTHOUSE, 500 Forest Street, Wausau

SPRINT, 705 S. 24th Avenue, Wausau

WAUSAU CENTER MALL, Downtown Wausau (A picture of the sign was sent to me)

WAUSAU CITY HALL, 407 Grant Street, Wausau  (Note, I have not actually seen the weapons signs at Wausau City Hall, but based on meeting minutes, I know they are coming.)

Again, the purpose of this list is NOT so that CCW permit holders can boycott these businesses.  Those places where I have seen the signs are businesses that I use and am very happy with the services they provide and I will continue to do business with.  I am simply trying to save CCW permit holders the inconvenience of having to walk back to their car to secure the weapon after seeing the sign, by knowing the sign is there ahead of time, hopefully I can save you that trouble.

About drrent

Wausau, Wisconsin Landlord, past president of the Wisconsin Apartment Association, Host of the Dr Rent Radio Show on WNRB-LP, 93.3 FM, Wausau, WI
This entry was posted in Concealed Carry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wausau Area Businesses that have Posted Signage Banning Weapons

  1. JoAnn Malbone says:

    Wausau Child Care and WPS Health Insurance

  2. Fred Yulga says:

    Thanks for making a list. We are all entitled to our opinion. After all, this is America. I, on the other hand will not spend my money in places that do not support nor respect my constitutional and unalienable right to effective self defense. The signs on posted business and government places have, in effect, notified criminals that these buildings and areas around these buildings are target rich environments for them. The signs will not make the buildings any safer. Do you really think that the unlawful will “obey” the signs? Why should put myself in a less secure place?
    Quoting from Act 35, “A person that does not prohibit an individual from carrying a concealed weapon on property that the person owns or occupies is immune from any liability arising from its decision”, implying that persons who do post are setting themselves up for a lawsuit should something happen as a result of the posting. Of course, some lawyers are advising to post, hoping their advice gives them job security. And with the government buildings, it will be the taxpayers who end up paying the settlements.
    A business owner, who did not put signs up, told me the signs created a negative image and reminded people how some, through ignorance and fear, can disrespect the rights of others.

  3. Thanks for these businesses – I’ll be adding them (any I don’t already have). I’m compiling a list so CCW holders CAN boycott these business. Thanks for giving me more to add to the list. Just remember the “No firearms and weapons” are INVITING criminals. Ask the Aldi’s in Milwaukee how their posting turned out for them – good thing a CCW holder was there to STOP what could have ended up VERY badly (regardless of posting). As Fred mentioned above – businesses posting are LIABLE if someone gets hurt because they posted. I’m just waiting for the first lawsuit on this – then I think we will see how businesses react.

    Just remember:
    “Laws that forbid the carrying of arms disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes. Such laws make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assailants; they serve rather to encourage than prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an armed one.”
    – Thomas Jefferson (1764), quoting 18th century criminologist Cesare Beccaria in “On Crimes and Punishment.”

    An ever expanding list…..
    webpages.charter.net/rknechtel/2ndamendment/posting.html

  4. MPS says:

    The Pick ‘n Save at 2806 Schofield Ave, Weston is also a victim disarmament zone

Leave a Reply

