I’M BAAAACCCKKKK (Did you miss me?)

Holy crap it has been a long time since I have written anything.  My days just seem to be getting away from me, there is just so much going on.  Let’s see, what are some of the highlights of the last few weeks???

 

For about a week, Captain (my trusty St. Bernard) was suffering from a fairly messy case of diarrhea.  If you think that a St. Bernard can generate a lot of doggy doo-doo, try checking it out when it is in full splatter all over the living room a few times a day.

 

The City Pages “Best of…” of came out and this Dr. Rent blog got an honorable mention.  Thank you to everyone who thought I was the best blogger inWausau.

 

I was inGreen Baydoing another Landlord-Tenant law seminar for their local apartment association (AANW).  It was again VERY well attended.  I had backed off quite a bit on my classes to focus on the other issues I am facing right now, and I truly forgot just how much I enjoy teaching.  By the way, I have more classes coming that I will blog about very soon.  I will be inMilwaukeenext week, my classes with the UW Continuing Education system are starting up again, and I am presenting a series of classes in Wisconsin Dells in October.

 

I also spent quality time roaming the halls of theCapitolBuildinginMadison.  The “Crime Free Rental Housing” program is a model program that partners landlords with police departments to work together to reduce crime in rental properties.  This is a program that started some years ago inArizona, but it can be found now in many cities throughout the country. Kenosha,Wisconsinis one of the places it can be found here, and I helped to write that program.  The problem is thatWisconsinlaws really don’t allow landlords to evict for criminal activity except in certain cases.  Don’t get me wrong, I am not saying landlords can’t do it… it just isn’t as easy as it should be.  So, a group of us were helping to draft legislation that would do just that.

 

I have also been working with Attorney Karen Bauer to tweakMadison’s rent abatement ordinance so we can have it presented toWausau’s Housing Task Force.

 

Quality time has also been spent recently inOklahoma.  In my “Crossroads” blog post, I indicated that I am at a point where if I am going to change the direction my life is headed, circumstances are lining up to make this the time to make such a change.  I am in the final three for a position withinOklahoma City’s city government’s budget office.

 

Of course, there have been the day to day challenges and adventures that come with property management.  AND… who can forget that even though the Dr. Rent Radio Show is on hiatus, I am still on the air many Friday evenings at 7 PM with a recurring guest spot on Conversation Digest, where I moderate the 7:40 PM weekly feature of Dr. Rent’s Current Events.

 

All in all, a lot is going on, but I want to ensure my blog reader(s) that the Dr. Rent blog is still alive and well.  I will get back to writing and posting again on a regular basis.  And, for those who enjoy my musings, you have Wausau Daily Herald editorial staff member Rob Metzner to thank for that.  He asked me to write up my thoughts on revamping the evaluation system for teachers, and so I did.  Of course, that short bit helped remind me of just how much I actually enjoy writing.  And… I have so much to blog about.

 

I have my upcoming classes…

 

I have this rent abatement ordinance which could make its way into reality…

 

I have the experience of applying for and interviewing for a job for the first time in about 20 years…

 

I have my thoughts on how silly the “no firearms” signs are on businesses and other buildings now that concealed carry is very close to being a reality…

 

I have my experiences back on the bike.  My old 1978 Honda has found itself getting more and more use, and has been joined by a “real” motorcycle…

 

I have what is happening to my ankle… I just started hurting a bit last night, for no real reason.. and right now it is KILLING ME!!!  It feels like someone took a baseball bat to it and I can barely walk… how annoying is that?

 

I have missed writing, and I only hope that you have missed reading… tune in!!!

About drrent

Wausau, Wisconsin Landlord, past president of the Wisconsin Apartment Association, Host of the Dr Rent Radio Show on WNRB-LP, 93.3 FM, Wausau, WI
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

