Where Have I Been??

Two weeks, that is a very long time between blog posts, nearly a record. The last blog post (that I can remember anyway) was my “Answers” post, which was a Dr Rent Radio Show preview from two weeks ago. In that post, I did indicate there would be no radio show last week.

I was leaving town for a few days and was in Oklahoma City. Getting back from OKC was quite the adventure. I learned early on Saturday that all Sunday and Monday morning flights were cancelled. I was lucky enough to get this information a full day ahead of time and I was able to rent the last four-wheel drive vehicle at the OKC airport (a Jeep Wrangler from AVIS, and AVIS went out of their way to help me… so they get a BIG TIME Dr. Rent Seal of Approval. I don’t rent cars very often… but I guarantee that AVIS has my business the next time I do).

 Although I am back in town, I have a scheduling conflict with the next episode of the Dr. Rent Radio Show scheduled to be on the air today. A while back I was a wee bit critical of the leadership of the Wausau Housing Task Force. The group had not met since the night of the Wausau city budget hearing in November. In the mean time, other things were going on (the Federal Building proposal and the purchase of blighted downtown properties) and I blogged about my disappointment that it appeared as though inner city neighborhood blight was once again taking a back seat to downtown development. Shortly after that blog, I received an email indicating that there were other issues at play, but also asking for people’s schedules. After a barrage of emails, we are having a long meeting starting at 5 PM tonight. Since I made an issue out of not meeting in a blog post, it would be very inappropriate for me to then not be able to attend the meeting.

So, yet another radio show is being put on the back burner. However, I did get some software and low-cost equipment that will allow me to pre-record radio shows for when I can’t be on the air. I played around with it a bit last night, but was not able to get a full show put together.

The ability to pre-record shows is going to be important for the next couple of months because starting next week, I am going to start attending evening classes a few nights a week. After over a decade and a half working in real estate, I am finally going to pursue my real estate license. The classes on Thursday don’t start until 5:30 PM, so that will give me the chance, once the show is pre-recorded and “in the can” to stop off at the studio and get it going.

However, I am still here and things will hopefully get back to normal in the near future. Thank you for bearing with me… and…. HAPPY RENTING!!

About drrent

Wausau, Wisconsin Landlord, past president of the Wisconsin Apartment Association, Host of the Dr Rent Radio Show on WNRB-LP, 93.3 FM, Wausau, WI
This entry was posted in Housing Task Force, WNRB. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

