If I Can Make It Through This Week…

Okay race fans…. If I can make it through this week, I might be able to actually relax a little bit.

What is going to be the second busiest week of the year for me (the busiest is always the week of the 4th of July because of this pyrotechnical hobby-thing I have going on) actually started last week.

Friday was the first day of the month, and as you can imagine, the first few days of the month are the busiest for landlords. Rent payments are coming in. People who just moved out need to have their units checked out so we can get their deposits back to them. And, this is also the busy time of month for showings. After work it was driving down to Milwaukee. The Wisconsin Corvette Club was doing its fall color run on Saturday, and we were leaving the Milwaukee area at around 6:30 AM. I decided to go down the night before.

The fall color run this year was actually a very good time, I thought. We left Milwaukee and caravanned down to Warrens for the cranberry harvest. After being given a tour of one of the farms and harvest operations, it was a high speed drive down some really scenic back roads to do lunch on our own in Tomah. We then got together again and took some more back roads back to Warrens where the group of nearly 40 of us invaded the Cranberry Discovery Center. That was my first time in Warrens other than for their festival, it was neat to see actual yards around houses, and actual streets that could be driven on. After a while there, it was time for another high speed cruise on some really fun roads until we ended up at a German restaurant just off I-94 near the Camp Douglas area. After a great meal, we then went our separate ways. The rest of the club jumped on I-94 back to Milwaukee. I got off of I-94 just a few miles down the road to get onto Highway 80 for the trip back north. For the first time ever after a Corvette Club outing, I was the first of the group to be back home.

So… with a day of relaxation out of the way, the week started for real on Sunday. This coming weekend is the Wisconsin Apartment Association’s annual conference and trade show. In addition to a number of classes being given by various speakers, the WAA (through its educational foundation, Rental Housing Resources), has its series of classes, and many of them will also be presented. I noticed that the Landlord-Tenant Law class didn’t have some of the newer laws in it; and, the Fair Housing class really only covered the federal protected classes, and not the state ones. With the permission of the WAA, I updated those two classes and got those off to them last week. However, I also had to update the three tests for those classes and that was done on Sunday. I am also doing three of my own classes at conference. One I also did last year, and just needed to do some updates. Two of them are new and I wrote one of them yesterday – I am doing a 1 hour class on collections which I also did last year, and the new class I wrote covers the five most commonly asked questions I get from landlords. (I need to get that third class, an informational class on purchasing distressed properties, written today or tomorrow).

Today, it is back in the office doing office things. I need to get bills paid and still have to get my renewals from last month properly processed within the computer system. I also should try to get that last class written. This is really the only evening that I will have to get some of this stuff done. (I just remembered, I also need to get my president’s letter for the November newsletter written and submitted – crap.)

Tomorrow after work, it is off to UWMC where this semester’s offerings continue. The third in my series of classes I do for their Continuing Education department, Step-by-Step Guide to Evictions, runs from 6:30 to 8:00 PM Tuesday evening.

On Wednesday, October 6th, from 3 to 8 PM is the Lincoln County Housing Information Fair, which is being held at the Smith (Marc) Center in Merrill. I was asked a few months ago by members of the Merrill Area Rental Association to be a speaker. My topic for them is going to be “Landlord and renters’ rights (and wrongs).” I also spent time last night polishing this presentation and putting it on Powerpoint. Other presenters for this Housing Fair include Bob Roe (Lincoln Community Bank), Kelly Zagrzebski (WPS), Mark Gatto (Focus on Energy), Dave Barrett (Northstar Environmental Testing), and Janet Fox (USDA Rural Housing). This program is free, and you can contact Lincoln County Zoning at 715-539-1087 or 715-539-1072 for more information.

Thursday is of course the Dr. Rent Radio Show, and as soon as I am off the air, it is on the road down to La Crosse as the WAA Conference starts Friday morning and as WAA President, I do need to help with the set up. It will be a very full weekend and I hope to be home sometime Sunday evening…

Well… hang on everybody – its going to be a bumpy ride.

About drrent

Wausau, Wisconsin Landlord, past president of the Wisconsin Apartment Association, Host of the Dr Rent Radio Show on WNRB-LP, 93.3 FM, Wausau, WI
This entry was posted in Continuing Education, Corvette, Education, Hobbies, UWMC, WAA, WCC and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

