Let's Try this Again

Okay… Let’s try this again.

Last week, I had to cancel the Dr. Rent Radio show at the last minute because of a misunderstanding about a speaking engagement. However, the show is not totally cancelled, but instead just postponed. Those topics I was going to discuss last week will actually be on the air tonight from 5 to 6 PM on WNRB-LP, 93.3 FM.

Our topic of the day (assuming I can get to it because we have some great questions) stems from a great discussion on one of the articles on the Wausau Daily Herald website. We will talk about various ways the City can address blight (an issue brought up in many districts) and actually be effective in its efforts.

As always, before our topic are questions, and some really good ones this week. One came from a landlord that I met at the Sheriff’s department. He had issued a 5-Day Notice and the tenant has not left. He was at the Sheriff’s department to get their help. Unfortunately, that is not the way it works. We will briefly discuss what happens after the 5-Day and what the Sheriff can and cannot do. We will also look at the ramifications of taking the law into your own hands. Finally, we will discuss some creative solutions that are legal.

A while back, I blogged about another blog. The president of one of the apartment associations in Milwaukee who is also an attorney well-versed in landlord-tenant laws is one of my favorite blogs out there. Last week, at http://petriestocking.com/blog/, Attorney Pettit discussed the common question of what happens when a lease requires that the tenant give landlord advance notice that they are not renewing at the end of a lease, and then they vacate at the end of the lease without giving such notice. This is such a common question, I felt it would be a good one to talk about on tonight’s radio program as well.

The court hearing I had last week was not my only pending action. Last Tuesday I filed a new eviction action and last Wednesday, I was in court on an eviction “return date” where I filed a settlement plan I had worked out with the tenant. On the case before mine, the case was called, the tenant showed up, the landlord did not. The judge indicated the case was dismissed. The tenant then had the question – what does that mean?

Finally, I had a question from a long time friend who is a landlord in town who needed guidance on the law that was passed a few years ago that gave victims of domestic violence the ability to break their lease. Where can this law can be found and just how does it work?

Those are a lot of great questions so I really hope that I do get to today’s main topic. But if I don’t, at least I will have something to talk about next week. So, until then… HAPPY RENTING!

About drrent

Wausau, Wisconsin Landlord, past president of the Wisconsin Apartment Association, Host of the Dr Rent Radio Show on WNRB-LP, 93.3 FM, Wausau, WI
This entry was posted in Automatic Renewals, Domestic Violence, Evictions, Questions, Wausau, WNRB and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

