I'm Too Busy for This S____

It started sometime on Sunday, and is probably a result of working on Saturday. I have a great deal of work to still do in the office to close out my 2009 fiscal year records, and weekends are the best time to get that done because there are no office interruptions. However, Saturday was a great day to be outside. So the day was spent catching up on updating some records of our vacant commercial properties, including taking pictures and getting room measurements.

Sunday was more of an overcast day and better for working inside… but for most of the afternoon it felt like I had something caught in my throat. By Monday morning, it was much more pronounced and you could feel a bit of congestion building up behind it.
For the first time for an editorial board meeting, I had brought something to drink with me to try to help.

I have four units coming vacant. Three of them are people who are transferring to different apartments, and one is an eviction. I had the keys back on two of the inter-company transfers so I checked out those units yesterday and while working outside doing that, I could slowly feel the congestion move up.

Although I may be “Dr” Rent, I do have an issue with doctors and medicines and I feel that people nowadays are way too reliant on pills for this or that. Therefore, I tend to avoid both doctors and medications at all costs and am a subscriber to the “walk it off” method of health care. However, by Tuesday evening it was time to see what magical wonders Mrs. Rent had in the bathroom cabinets and found some DayQuil and NyQuil gelcaps. SOLD!

This morning, that sensation of something caught in my throat is pretty much back to where it was on Sunday, but the congestion has completed its journey up to my head. It feels like my head is going to explode from the pressure, and even the littlest noise like the high-pitched hum of the ballasts of the florescent lights in my office is deafeningly loud.

I am hoping I can shake this really quickly because this is seriously bad timing. Of course, the first few days of the month with rental payments and working on move outs is the busiest for landlords, the rest of the week is already booked solid.

Tomorrow at 5 PM is the Dr Rent radio show. I remember once back at NTC where I was feeling about 10 times worse than I am now, but the show must go on… so I had a mixture of Tylenol, NyQuil, and just to make things interesting… some allergy meds. Luckily no one listens to the show. The only listener I had was Dino, who at the time ran the station. Afterwords he caught me in the hall and asked me if I had any idea what I was rambling on about. To be honest… I didn’t. I had barely remembered even being in the studio and was actually impressed that I had not fallen asleep at the mic (which I have also done once when not feeling well – kind of interesting during a talk show).

After the show tomorrow, I am heading straight down to UWMC for my final Continuing Education class of the spring semester, a Step by Step Guide to Evictions that will run from 6:30 PM to 8.

On Saturday morning, it is up at what we in the military used to call “zero-dark-hundred” because I am meeting with a group of landlords from the Hudson area Saturday morning at 9 AM. Hudson is the border town when heading to the Twin Cities on I-94, so a good 2 ½ drive.

Next week, my scheduled “guest appearances” all over the state really kick in. Monday after work it is off to Oshkosh to meet with a group of their landlords and present my “Top Ten Mistakes Landlords Make” seminar. Tuesday evening I am in Wisconsin Rapids presenting a seminar on collections to their landlord association. Thursday, it is back to the shores of Winnebago again as the “Top Ten” seminar is being presented in Appleton.

I don’t know that there is really ever a good time to have a cold or be sick… but some times are worse than others… and right now is clearly one of those times.

About drrent

Wausau, Wisconsin Landlord, past president of the Wisconsin Apartment Association, Host of the Dr Rent Radio Show on WNRB-LP, 93.3 FM, Wausau, WI
This entry was posted in Top Ten List, WNRB and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I'm Too Busy for This S____

  1. Dino Corvino says:

    I remember that, and it was AWESOME!!! If more people did radio like that, I would listen more.

  2. so what you are saying we need more of on the radio…

    is lets take some 170+ IQ, straight-shooting intellectuals, get them all loopy on cold medications… and put them in front of a microphone….

    that is what the Dino demographic wants?

    LOL

  3. Dino Corvino says:

    I remember sitting there listening, thinking OH DEAR LORD THIS COULD GO SO WRONG.

    And just worrying and worrying. Then, as I listened, you totally made NO SENSE at all. But, you were so high above everyone, that no one had ANY idea what was happening even if they were listening.

    Now, that I have no skin in the station, damn right. Give more people sedatives and open the mic.

Leave a Reply

